top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHyde Park

Jesus sticks with you.



Our children’s team has been talking about the phrase “stick with Jesus” to go with our stick theme this week. I asked my husband, “WHY should I stick with Jesus?” because I imagine some of you are wondering the same thing. He responded with a cheesy phrase, “Because he sticks with you!”

Maybe we’ve been away from civilization too long, he’s the one coming up with the kids’ ministry sayings!

So what IS the impact of that statement, “Jesus sticks with you”?

Our youngest child, is a 2-year-old boy whose love language is cuddling. Today, he and I ran around the back yard, I held him as I galloped in the sun, and he clung to me with both arms and legs, like a human slap bracelet wrapped around my body. When I sat down in the grass, I assumed he would crawl off and run around like he often does. But he didn’t, and my heart melted.

He just hugged me so tight, as if we were in the rocking chair, snuggling before bed. So….I let him! I rocked him back and forth in our backyard, ignored the random passers-by who were probably melting at the sight too, and thanked God for loving me through this sweet boy.

When we talk about “Stick with Jesus because Jesus sticks with you,” I imagine me and my boy. We hold each other tight out of love.

My son loves me and I love him. In light of this love, we can improve our relationship by spending time together…i.e. running around the backyard, reading books, and as he gets older, talking about what he likes and dislikes.

Jesus loves YOU.

You cannot do anything to earn this love, He just loves you. (Jesus sticks with you.)

When you read the Bible, pray and go to church, you grow closer to Jesus. (You stick with Jesus.)

Will you take time to get to know the God who loves you? Don’t know where to start? Message us.

Yes, the statement is cheesy….but I bet it’s easy to remember too. And easy to teach to your kids while you hunt for sticks to do one of this week’s crafts! Say it with me now…

Stick with Jesus because Jesus sticks with you!

HannahLee

Additional Resources

Related Bible Verses

Romans 8:38-39 English Standard Version

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

1 John 4:10 New International Version

This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

We want to pray for you.

Email prayer requests to kids@hpbc.org. No prayer is too big or too small for God.

How can I know Jesus?

Check out “Knowing Jesus” here.

Blessings,


HannahLee :)



HannahLee Duffey is the Minister to Children at Hyde Park Baptist Church in Austin Texas. She is married to Bryan and has 3 kids. She likes coffee, everything Christmas, the color pink, dancing and smiling…it’s her favorite!

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page